Change… what is it made of?

Remember a few years ago when Barack Obama, presidential hopeful and current leader of this great nation, was preaching about change?  Yes, we can change!  Yes, we can!  Well I certainly do.  Now, I’m not going to debate politics here, but I will say that I am unbelievably exhausted… not tired, but exhausted from political ads.  These people are calling my cell phone to preach at me and tell me how they can change things.  The truth of the matter is.. no one is going to change anything, they are too busy arguing over who is right and who is wrong.  But really, we are supposed to vote for the person who is less of a monster than the other, yet still voting for a monster.

I will not be going to the polls this year to vote for anyone.  I’m exercising my right to NOT vote for any of these people simply because I don’t think either of you will do the job right and I don’t want to be ashamed when I have to answer “Yes, I voted for him/her.” when they inevitably abuse their power, corrupt the system, and lie to the people.  What I am absolutely certain of is that something needs to change and one man or woman just can’t do it.  You all know what Gandhi said right?  Be the change you wish to see in the world.  Does that mean we need to change ourselves instead of relying on others to change the world for us?  I think so.

I wanted to let you in on a little secret.  Well, it isn’t a secret, but most people don’t know about it unless they have been therapy or the like.  When someone wants to change something about themselves or really make a change of any sort they will go through a series of stages.  There are 5 distinct stages; pre-contemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, and maintenance.  I will outline them for you really quick like:

1) Pre-contemplation – This is a the first stage which isn’t really much of a stage at all because the person has no indication or intention to change a behavior.  They may even be unaware or “underaware” of their problems.

2) Contemplation – This is the stage when the person first becomes aware that a problem exists and they begin seriously think about fixing said problem, but aren’t really committed to it just yet.

3)  Preparation – Pretty much just like it sounds.  A person in this stage may have made unsuccessful attempts at change in the past few months or they are intending to take action very soon.

4)  Action – Again, just like it sounds.  A person will begin to modify their behavior, experiences, or environment in order to overcome the problem.  The trick here is essentially “easier said than done”, right?  Yep.  This stage requires a great deal of energy and commitment.  But it’s totally worth it.

5)  Maintenance – You guessed it, the person maintains their new behavior, experience, or environment.

So… first, in regards to our country, what stage of change to you think our leader’s are in?  Totally subjective question.  I won’t answer it for the sake of my keeping this post less than 2 miles long.  Aside from our leaders… is there something that you would like to change about our country?  Do you want to change things?  I’m with Gandhi.  I will be the change I wish to see in the world.  I hope that you will be too.  I feel like I will be in the action stage for most of my life and we can only get to maintenance if we all work together.  Help me be the change we need and lets get to maintenance… this action stuff is wearing me out.

Also to all of you politicians out there… get your act together because one day, you will have to answer to your voters.  And one day, we won’t let you get away with the things that you do.  We can make change without you… just wait and see.

Posted on October 27, 2010, in Positive Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The only way the ‘voter’s won’t let them get away with’ anything is if you vote. 1. I don’t think it is fair to complain about a single systematic thing in this country if you don’t vote. Things would be different if all the people who are apathetic or don’t believe their vote matters, actually voted. I know the stats on voter turnout, but I think we have to keep trying.
    2. Do politicians always do everything they promise? No. However, it is vitally important that we have someone in office who at least subscribes to our same theoretical orientation- for example, it is supposedly extremely close between Giannoulias and Kirk right now. If Kirk wins, he’s pro-life which means he’ll always for vote anti-choice legislation, he’s anti-gay rights so he’ll be a ‘no’ vote on the repeal of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell, he’s against funding social programs…etc. Giannoulias may not do everything he’s promised but I’d still rather have him representing me than Kirk.
    I would ask you to reconsider not voting.
    *off soapbox now*

    • I knew that you would have something good to say about this. It’s not that I don’t want to vote… I am having a hard time not just with Illinois elections but all of them. Not just who I vote for, but for all of the people in this country that are running for office. I don’t have faith in any of them. Frankly, Obama was supposed to end DADT, but his administration just appealed its ban. I’m with you on all of your agendas and believe whole heartedly in a woman’s right to choose and gay rights, but I really think that we as a people need to change in general… I can’t keep putting my faith in our leaders to change things for us. If we change, they change. I am pushing for the people of our country to change for the better.

      I may change my mind a vote because I certainly don’t want Kirk in office, but Giannoulias sucks too. It’s just hard to go to the polls when I have lost my faith in all of them. And I mean all elected officials, including school board members.

      You stay on your soapbox and you push you agendas. If this country had more people like you, we would be in a far better place.

  2. I understand. I get really frustrated as well. Hang in there though 🙂

Leave a comment