Weekly Photo – Seasons Change, Memories Remain

I snapped this photo on my cell phone when I parked my car outside the hospital that I work.  I am oddly attached to this photo for reason.  I started to think about the reason(s) why I was so drawn to it.

It’s simple.  I love the contrast… and I love autumn.  It is a fleeting season.  While summer and winter seem to linger on and on… especially winter… autumn comes and goes like a warm October night.  When I really started to think about it, I have a lot of memories that coincide with my favorite season that always resurface when the air changes.

I suppose that I never thought of seasons to hold associative properties.  But I clearly can associate a great deal with the change of the leaves and the chilling of the wind.  Most of all, when these memories resurface at the beginning of fall, I feel all warm and nostalgic on the inside.  I don’t want that feeling to go away along with the sun when winter smacks me in the face.  So, for the weekly photo, I am sending out a kind message to the leaves on the trees (especially the red ones): Don’t fall away too quickly.  Linger on for just a little while longer.  Let us enjoy your contrast with the blue sky for just a little while longer, won’t you please?

Posted on October 11, 2010, in Photography, Weekly Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Fall is my favorite time of year too with lots of fond memories. Harvests, bonfires, walking in the woods. Yes, Fall is the season I wish I could hold on to the longest. The sweetest things seem to have happened to me in the fall.

Leave a comment